Committee Member Profile

Avatar Dame Jane Newell

Chair, John Lewis Partnership Pensions Trust Ltd.

Dame Jane Newell is the independent Chair of the John Lewis Partnership Pensions Trust. From January 2005 to September 2012 she was Chair of the Royal Mail Pension Plan and from 2009 of the Royal Mail Defined Contribution Plan. Other pensions chairmanships have included: 2005-07 Dixons Group pension scheme; 1998-2005 United Utilities Pension Scheme, and the UU Group of the Electricity Supply Pension Scheme and from 1994-2004 a Trustee of the GlaxoSmithKline Pension Plan. Her involvement with pensions arose from her appointment in 1992 as a founder Trustee, and subsequently Chairman, of the Maxwell Pensioners Trust for which she was awarded the OBE.
Jane has also held the position of Pro-Chancellor and Chair of the Board of Governors of London South Bank University for 8 years and was previously Chair of Council of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. She was a Trustee of Age UK from 2009 to 2015, a Justice of the Peace for 20 years on both the Liverpool and South Western Benches, a Governor of the Pensions Policy Institute, a Vice-President of the Pensions Archive Trust and a Vice-President of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. From 1996-2005 she was a non-executive director of United Utilities plc. and has also been an external Assessor for the Assessment and Consultancy Unit of the Home Office as well as an international civil servant, a university linguistics tutor and a health and university administrator. She was awarded a DBE in the 2012 New Year honours. (07.19)